Aarhus BSS Graduate School

Aarhus BSS Graduate School has one general set of rules and seven strong field programmes. Head of the Graduate School is the the Vice-Dean for Research and Talent Development at Aarhus BSS.

PhD programmes

The seven academic areas offered at Aarhus BSS Graduate School provide PhD students with research methods and a solid theoretical foundation, enabling graduates to apply research methodology and theory in practice. The seven field programmes are:

Within each programme the graduate school offers several different schemes: 3-year scheme, 4-year scheme and 5-year scheme. Please note that the field programme in Social Science and Business is offered as a 3-year scheme only. For detailed information about application announcements and deadlines please see the graduate school’s open calls.

PhD Committee

The head of the graduate school is assisted by the PhD committee of Aarhus BSS Graduate School. The members of the PhD committee, who represent the academic staff and PhD students at Aarhus BSS, are elected by and among these. The committee has 14 elected members – 7 tenured faculty and 7 PhD students representing the 7 fields. The head of the graduate school participates in the committee meetings.

Field Committee

A PhD field committee is appointed for each of the graduate school’s seven field programmes. The field committees are elected for one year at a time and are valid for the period 1 February - 31 January. The website is thus updated every year on 1 February. Field committees consist of at least four representatives of the academic staff within the area in question. These committees, made up of tenured faculty, also act as standing committees in connection with enrolment to the PhD programme. 

The representative of the relevant field in the PhD committee of Aarhus BSS Graduate School is automatically a member and chair of the PhD field committee. The other members of the field committee are appointed by the head of the relevant department. The members of the field committee for Social Science and Business are, however, appointed by the dean. In connection with the appointment of field committee members, it is ensured that the composition of each field committee reflects the academic breadth of the programme. The individual PhD field committee constitutes the academically competent committee in respect of the field in question. This entails that, prior to any major academic issues being addressed by the PhD committee, all such issues have been submitted to the relevant PhD field committee, and the relevant PhD field committee also advises the head of the graduate school on all academic issues concerning the PhD programme.