You are here: Aarhus BSS About Aarhus BSS News show

Mia Skytte O’Toole receives the Danish Psychological Association’s Junior Researcher Award

Mia Skytte O’Toole from the Department of Psychology and Behavioural Sciences, Aarhus BSS has been selected as this year’s - and the Danish Psychological Association’s first - junior researcher.

2017.05.19 | Tine Bagger Christiansen

Mia Skytte O´Toole. Photo: Tine Bagger

“I’m both happy and proud and not least grateful to be selected,” says Mia Skytte O'Toole in response to being selected as the award recipient.

Original and innovative research the deciding factor
On their website, the Danish Psychological Association gives the following reasons for selecting Mia:

Mia receives the award for her research within clinical psychology, in which she has used an original and innovative approach to psychological research focusing on emotions and emotion regulation for the treatment of e.g. anxiety and depression. In this way, she has contributed to developing a new therapeutic method. Mia’s research has resulted in a significant number of publications in international scientific journals and presentations at national and international conferences. The quality of her research results and their significance is further substantiated by a number of research funding grants for her and her research. Mia has already achieved impressively much during her relatively short career as a researcher, and her future research projects appear very promising and relevant.

“The award helps draw attention to the unique strategic research that the area of psychology contributes - a field of research that both can and should play a larger role in designing the good society,” says Chairwoman of the Danish Psychological Association Eva Secher Mathiasen.

The winner of the Danish Psychological Association’s Junior Researcher Award is selected on the basis of the following criteria:

  • The researcher must have made a special contribution to uncovering a strategically important area of practice for psychologists
  • The researcher must have made a special contribution to the development of psychology as a science
  • The researcher must have made a special contribution to the development of psychologists’ quality of practice
  • The researcher must have employed an original approach to psychological research.

The award ceremony
The award will be presented together with a diploma and DKK 25,000 at the Danish Psychological Association’s annual meeting on 25 August 2017 in Aalborg. Here Mia Skytte O´Toole will also give a presentation about her research.